(Sink) Pressure's gonna drop on you

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TheGreatVolare

Reaction score
Hey folks!

I'm a total noob when it comes to plumbing and so I thought I'd seek help from people who actually know a thing or two about plumbing.

I recently replaced the disposal unit under my sink. The replacement process went without a hitch but when I ran the sink afterwards, the water pressure had noticeably dropped. I crawled back under the sink to make sure that I had fully opened the water cutoff valves and both the hot and cold cutoff valves were completely open. The more I have mess with the valves to try to figure out what's going on, the lower the water pressure gets even though I'm quite sure that I'm leaving the valves completely open. My sink is now a trickle!

When I replaced the disposal, I did not disconnect any water lines to the faucet. I turned the water off at the hot/cold valves but then only disconnected the drain from the old disposal and reconnected it to the new unit. No other room in my house is having any issues with their water pressure.

Any suggestions or ideas would be most welcome. Thanks plumbing gurus!

I would suggest starting with the easy stuff first.

Plug the sink drain and remove the aerator from the faucet. Open the faucet on cold and hot and let it run for a few seconds. If the water flows normally, your aerator is clogged. You can buy a new one, or clean the debris from the one you have.

If the aerator is not the problem, go under the sink, turn off the valves, and disconnect the supply lines from the faucet. Get a bucket, and, one at a time, aim each supply line into the bucket, and turn the water on slowly to try to flush out any debris.