Replacing Old Bathtub Handle and Trim, help with diverter and plate type

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

caztroy8

Reaction score
We recently had our bathtub retiled and hoped to update the handle/trim ourselves but have run into some complications. We're working with an old, traditional mixing valve with a pull-out handle (pics attached). At this point, we will be happy with any kind of replacement that will not require removing the new tile. I'm far from an expert w/ anything plumbing, so hoping for some help or recommendations!

1) Our diverter pull is located directly above the bathtub valve but it seems that trims with this layout are nearly nonexistent. What are our options for replacement? Probably a silly question, but are we able to simply screw off our diverter stem and replace with a spout that contains the diverter?

2) Our tile was installed close to the valve, so plates with a convex inner shape (like our existing one) will Shower Pic 1.jpgnot fit.

3) My initial plan was to stick with our current valve (works perfectly fine) and just get a new handle/trim. But it seems like nearly all faucets are made for pressure-balanced or thermostatic valves. So should I plan on changing the type of valve also?

Attachments

• Shower Pic 4.jpg
    Shower Pic 4.jpg
    516.6 KB · Views: 2
  • Shower Pic 3.jpg
    Shower Pic 3.jpg
    766 KB · Views: 2
  • Shower Pic 2.jpg
    Shower Pic 2.jpg
    861.2 KB · Views: 3
You should have replaced and modernized the valve, before re-tiling the shower.

Meanwhile, it looks like you have created a rectangular cutout, when you actually need a round one, to allow the trim plate to properly recess into the wall.

So you will need to cut the tiles that are already installed.
While they are installed, which is difficult.
Seems like poor planning.

You could probably make those tile cuts with a Roto-zip tool.