Removing a bathroom sink

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Erik L

Reaction score
Hi -

This is my first post here and it may be a dumb one, but I wanted to be sure as I've never done this before.

I'm having a custom vanity built and it will be ready to install soon. Before it can be installed, I need to remove the old sink and vanity to make space for it. The question I have is about the old sink removal.

I watched some youtube videos and the sink removal seems pretty straightforward. My big question is, once I turn off the water valves under the sink and disconnect the lines from the faucet, is it safe to turn the main water back on? Should I be concerned at all about any water leakage or anything coming from the undersink water lines when they're not attached to a faucet?

Thanks for any feedback on this and if you have any other advice for me regarding bathroom sink removal, please send it along as I would love to know.

Thanks!
erik

It depends on how old and how long the valves have been used. Before disconnectng anything, shut off the hot and cold valves, then turn on the water and see if you have drips or constant dribble of water. This will help you to determine if the valves are holding tight.

Hi -

This is my first post here and it may be a dumb one, but I wanted to be sure as I've never done this before.

I'm having a custom vanity built and it will be ready to install soon. Before it can be installed, I need to remove the old sink and vanity to make space for it. The question I have is about the old sink removal.