Post-meter Water Line Replacement into House, Quick Replacement. Brilliant or Terrible Idea?

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

krizz90

Reaction score
Hi Folks,

First time poster here but I have a special project that requires some input from the experts here.

Background on me: Intermediate DIY enthusiast. I say enthusiast because I am not afraid to screw things up and end up spending more time and money as part of the learning process, whereas I know some DIY folks just want to save money. I've got some plumbing experience inside, but haven't dealt much with the outer pipes yet aside from one fix noted below.

Background on the issue: The water 1" PVC line into my house (built 2003) after the meter keeps popping holes. I first noticed the issue about a year ago, paid a plumber to come out, they did some digging, and patched 3 different holes. They recommended I replace the whole line, which I did not have the resources to do at that time. 6 months ago, another big leak developed out there. I dug it up and fixed myself and replaced a 10' section including the area with the leak with PEX pipe with sharkbite connections to the PVC. Now it is leaking again from a different spot, obviously it just needs to be totally replaced at this point.