Polybutylene Leak Questions\Hot Water "Running" With Water Off

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Spirrwell

Reaction score
Hello!

I just want to preface this that I'm completely new to plumbing, so apologies for potentially being dumb.

So I'm in a double wide mobile home that has polybutylene pipes. We have a hot water leak at one end of the home underneath. It's a 3/8 inch pipe and the leak is at a tee fitting. And we could be waiting a while for anybody to show up to fix it.

They apparently don't make push to connect PEX adapters in that size (that I could find), and I don't have a crimp tool, nor could I find one at Lowes. BUT I do have a clamp tool for PEX tubing. So I can't use any adaptive polybutylene to PEX fittings as they're only available with a copper crimp ring.

All I have access to are a 3/8 inch tee fitting for PEX, as well as clamps. (Or any other PEX fittings I can buy in that size)

First question: The 3/8 inch PEX and polybutylene are the same size and wall thickness. Is there any specific reason I can't use a regular brass tee PEX fitting with clamp rings on the polybutylene?

Second question: I shut off the water to the home, and the hot water breaker was turned off (it's an electric heater). However there was still water coming out of the pipe hours later, and still quite hot. Not a lot of water, but a constant drizzle. How can this be? There's a blue lever underneath the house (ball valve?) that shuts off water to the home. That's what I used.

Any help or information would be greatly appreciated.