PEX vs. WCSB

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jmako

Reaction score
Hi folks, newbie here. I’m just a home owner looking for some advice. I recently had my kitchen remolded. One of the contractors (not plumber) re-routed copper water lines and replaced them with PEX lines. I have multiple leaks. The project manager did the right thing and is footing the bill to repair things, put I’m not sure if I should insist on them pulling the PEX and putting copper back in. I know the GC probably used PEX because of its ease and lower cost. However every year my house is invaded with western conifer seed bugs, no matter how hard I try to seal up every crack. Anyway, I’ve read the WCSB is virtually the only pest that can perforate PEX. I don’t want to have PEX in my house only to have a bug create a leak in my ceiling 2yrs down the road after the job is no longer under warrantee. Just looking for thoughts, suggestions or what others might do in a situation like this. Thanks in advance for any feedback!

I was curious as to why this bug would be motivated to pierce pex tubing. So I did some research and found this portion of an article.
"The conversation on Entomo-l revealed that the bug is not always so innocuous. It has beak-like mouthparts and it can pierce polyethylene (PEX) tubing used in plumbing and radiant heating. The bugs secrete a protein in their saliva that forms a protective sheath around their mouthparts while they feed, and this sheath is left behind as evidence. Hence, investigators were able to sleuth the culprit in the case of the “weeping” pipes that lose water through the pinhole punctures caused by bugs exploring novel surroundings (Bates, 2005)."
Amazing that somebody took the time to actually discover the sheath of the insects proboscis in the pipe. That's dedication.