Pex in cold weather.

Discussion in 'Plumbing Products' started by Dimeblack1, Mar 26, 2011.

1. Mar 26, 2011 #1

Dimeblack1

Dimeblack1

Dimeblack1

PVC water line in up north cabin burst. Will PEX hold up better in cold weather?

2. Mar 27, 2011 #2

phishfood

phishfood

phishfood

Well-Known Member Supporting Member

I have heard that it will, but I have no personal experience to prove or disprove that.

3. May 20, 2011 #3

plumbernyc

plumbernyc

plumbernyc

4. May 22, 2011 #4

XxGiNoO

XxGiNoO

XxGiNoO

you could go with a type of plastic pipe called wirsbo it will expand three times it normal size without bursting and then return to its normal size once thawed price is competitive with pex just cant be in direct sun light and normal rings and crimpers will work

Zanne likes this.
  5. May 22, 2011 #5

havasu

havasu

havasu

Administrator Staff Member Admin

If I am not mistaken, it is the connectors that usually end up bursting when dealing with PEX. I have no personal knowledge of this, but many plumbers in the mountains have mentioned it to me.

6. Jun 4, 2011 #6

Hyper48fan

Hyper48fan

Hyper48fan

Professional Professional

There are different 'types' of Pex tubing (A, B, C). Pex A (wirsbo) will expand as stated earlier. I'm in Oregon and we use Wirsbo for most residential applications and I've installed up to 2" Wirsbo in really cold weather, it's harder to work with and it takes longer to shrink back on the fittings. Using a torch lightly on the rings will shrink them quickly so you can turn the water on sooner. I've yet to see or hear of Wirsbo freeze breaking but I'm sure it can happen under extreme conditions. The fittings and collars(rings) are the weakest link in the Wirsbo System. Rehau is a great product as well, expensive though.

Zanne likes this.
  7. Jun 4, 2011 #7

Hyper48fan

Hyper48fan

Hyper48fan