Outdoor faucet needs replacing

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

edhalsim

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to plumbing. I have an outdoor faucet originally installed with the house almost 30 yrs. ago. It won't shut off. Right now I have one of those valves attached to it so it doesn't leak. It has a round plastic knob on the top so it may be one of those kind that's resistant to freezing (?) I live in Texas so freezing is normally the least of our problems, except for the past two weeks.

I'm guessing this isn't a problem I should try to fix myself. There's no interior shutoff value and it's a slab, brick house. I'm afraid if I try to twist it, something will break inside the wall and then I'm screwed. Any idea how much I'd spend to call in a plumber? How would they go about fixing it without destroying anything?

Thanks.
Ed

Sometimes when a frost proof sillcock freezes, it bursts way inside the wall where you can’t see the water leaking.
Be on the lookout for water leaking from the wall or under the house.

In case you're not familiar the sillcock has a compression valve at the end inside the house with a long shaft that operates it. Without adequate insulation it may have frozen. You need to find how it is plumbed to replace.

Attachments

• Frostless.jpg
    Frostless.jpg
    15.1 KB · Views: 1
Post a pic. Don’t try to unscrew it from the wall.

See below. I saw a video online that said you could possibly unscrew the handle, remove it, and replace a couple of washers inside the unit and fix it for $2. Don't know if that's a "pipe dream"; HAHAH I kill myself. But seriously, thanks for the help.

0187aaa926ac25f1150f5cdbb82090c6e3cb171bd2.jpg01b75e59e059996960b595fadfc1bc5443abf79b54.jpg

You know when you screwed that add on valve onto that frost proof faucet you eliminated it’s frost proof characteristics.