No water condition

Discussion in 'Pumps and Wells' started by Jomo, Aug 3, 2019.

Help Support Plumbing Forums by donating:

  1. Aug 3, 2019 #1

    Jomo

    Jomo

    Jomo

    New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYS
    I have a no water condition in my house. The installed gauge states that I have 50 psi. My question is even with a bad well pump shouldn't I have running water with that pressure? Fine the water will not run for long without a connected running pump but again, shouldn't I have water?
    I tested the pump relay and the contact are (now) clean. What should I try next?
    Thanks!
     
  2. Aug 5, 2019 #2

    Valveman

    Valveman

    Valveman

    Pump Controls Tech Professional Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    ,Lubbock, Texas
    Replace the gauge. It is probably just stuck on 50 PSI.
     
  3. Aug 6, 2019 #3

    Jomo

    Jomo

    Jomo

    New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYS
    The gauge still reads 50 psi (maybe broken), the water tank measured 22psi at the Schrader valve.
    We have never lived in the house but plan on moving in tomorrow (Tuesday).
    Here is what I found. The control box is not wired up. According to color I plugged in the wires from the control box (capacitor and relay) to the plastic strip on the control box. I can only assume that it was to be done by colors!
    My problem now is how to wire the wires that come from the pump and the fuse box (or is it from the pump relay) to the plastic strip on the control box.
    I attached diagrams of everything. The wires on the left are from the fuse box and the wires on the right side are coming from the pump.
    A quick replay would be very welcomed as we just want to settle into our new home.
    Thanks,
    Jomo
     

    Attached Files:

    • 100.jpg
      100.jpg
      File size:
      89.7 KB
      Views:
      20
    • 101.jpg
      101.jpg
      File size:
      69.2 KB
      Views:
      21
    • 102.jpg
      102.jpg
      File size:
      52 KB
      Views:
      20
    • 103.jpg
      103.jpg
      File size:
      86.2 KB
      Views:
      22
    • 104.jpg
      104.jpg
      File size:
      69 KB
      Views:
      19
  4. Aug 6, 2019 #4

    Valveman

    Valveman

    Valveman

    Pump Controls Tech Professional Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    ,Lubbock, Texas
    L1 and L2 come from the breaker or fuse box. Red, Yellow, Black, and a green ground come from the pump. Yours is so old it probably doesn't have the green ground wire.
     
  5. Aug 6, 2019 #5

    Jomo

    Jomo

    Jomo

    New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYS
    The problem is that I do not have a Red, Yellow, Black, and a green wire coming from the pump. There is a picture showing the wires from the pump. The wires from the pump are black, white and copper.
    The wires coming from the fuse box are black, red and white. The white wire is actually attached to the ground. Is this correct? Does it matter which way I put the red and and black wires to L1 and L2?
     
  6. Aug 7, 2019 #6

    FishScreener

    FishScreener

    FishScreener

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2018
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    83467
    The black and red from the panel should be line one and two, with white as the ground. But check that with a meter. White to ground should have no voltage. Red or black to ground should be 120-volts, and black to red should be 240-volts. The white to ground with the breaker off should be a closed circuit with minimal resistance, red and black to ground should have infinite resistance. Check for shorts to ground, and a good ground before wiring anything up, or turning on power.

    Your pump leads are typically yellow and blue, but that isn’t code, just a normal practice in the pump industry. (Had a long discussion with an Electrical Engineer about it a couple of weeks back). You have NM 2 plus ground thus a black, a white and a bare ground. Before you wire anything up, check the winding resistance. Meyers got bought out, by Pentair, but the age still selling Myers as a brand, and the last time I called tech support, the older guy who answered the phone could give me the winding resistance for a pump in about your age range. You should have some added resistance from the lead wire to the pump, but, if you’re off more than 10% from what the tech support says, the pump is probably toast, and there is a reason it is disconnected.

    Tech support should also be able to tell though the amp draw of the pump. You need to check that to be sure the pump is running right.

    If you are confused by an of this, you need to call an electrician.
     
  7. Aug 7, 2019 #7

    Jomo

    Jomo

    Jomo

    New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYS
    Your reply was very helpful and I will do the test which you mentioned. But I still have the same question. I have three wires coming from my pump. They are black, white and bare copper and I need to know the color of the wires they mate with.
     
  8. Aug 7, 2019 #8

    Valveman

    Valveman

    Valveman

    Pump Controls Tech Professional Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    ,Lubbock, Texas
    The black and white are your L1 and L2. Doesn't matter which one goes to black or white. The bare wire is just a ground.
     

Share This Page