My contractor is stumped! Need a creative solution...

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

orfeus123

Reaction score
Hi all,

Grateful to find you. I'm not an expert on anything... just trying to solve problems.

Recently bought a house in the rocky Catskills, doing basic remodeling... but running into a problem figuring out how to drain the kitchen sink. The previous "solution" was a pipe that pumped the waste water into the neighbor's yard. No joke.

Here's why this is tricky...

1. There's a door between the sink and the bathroom... so we can't get the pitch needed through the walls.

2. Through the floor is problematic as well: There is almost no pitch to run a drain pipe from the sink to the bathroom where the main pipe to the septic is found (about 10 feet away). Under the kitchen floor is the floor support joists... I think 6 or 8 inches... and then dirt. The house is on a hill, so much of it has a crawl space... just not at this side of the house.

3. Even if we were to install a pump, the problem is that the floor joists run perpendicular to the direction the drain pipe has to go. In other words, we'd have to notch the support joists, and the concern is that it would simply weaken the support (the notch would be very close to the end of the boards... probably two feet away max)

4. Know nothing of grey water systems, but from my research, New York doesn't allow for any kind of grey water system for this situation.

5. If there was any need to, there's no good way to dig any significantly deep holes in the ground. There's a LOT of rock very close to the surface in this part of the Catskills. For example, my neighbor needed to dig holes for fence posts... literally had to get a jack hammer to go a few feet (after everything else failed).

I think that covers the challenges...

Any ideas????

THANK YOU!

Mitch