Main gate valve stem broken in open

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bushwaka

Reaction score
14B07356-5D44-4532-96EB-282FD2E72E3C.jpeg I’m new to copper pipe plumbing. Need some guidance for the replacement of the main gate valve.

If I cut out the pipe and replace with new valve and pipe, should I solder the threaded portion of the pipe where it meets the valve?

Can I replace with a ball valve instead of a gate valve? I’m guessing it’s code otherwise there would be more ball valves installed.

What is the white coating on the pipe?

Why would there be PVC fittings near the base of the pipe?

New to copper pipe plumbing? do you know how to solder?

I assume it's the valve in the vertical, which appears to be a soldered valve. Not threaded.
Do you know how you will fit the new pieces together, assuming it's fixed on each end?

Yes a full port ball valve would be a good choice.

Isn't the white coating just paint?

They must have used PVC under ground.

Is that 1" horiz. line, with the threaded gate valve, feeding a sprinkler system? If it is, it should have a
Pressure vacuum breaker backflow prevention assembly (PVB), I believe.

New to copper pipe plumbing? do you know how to solder?

I assume it's the valve in the vertical, which appears to be a soldered valve. Not threaded.
Do you know how you will fit the new pieces together, assuming it's fixed on each end?

Yes a full port ball valve would be a good choice.

Isn't the white coating just paint?

They must have used PVC under ground.

Is that 1" horiz. line, with the threaded gate valve, feeding a sprinkler system? If it is, it should have a
Pressure vacuum breaker backflow prevention assembly (PVB), I believe.

Yes it’s the vertical valve. Solder all my electrical connections. Heat from the bottom, solder from the top. Was thinking of using copper sleeves for connectors?