Laundry Standpipe-need some advice

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jac233

Reaction score
I'm a rookie at this so any info is appreciated.

I'm trying to hook up a standpipe for my washing machine. It was going into a utility tub but we got a dog and replaced it with a nice dog tub that is much shallower and would like to empty washing machine separately.

Here is what I have so far and this is not yet glued. I just mapped it out and ran the washer a few times while I watched over the pipes just to make sure it would work.

My biggest head scratcher is the venting. Does it need its own vent? It's draining from a 2" into a 4" that will be buried under the floor. That 4" pipe runs horizontally under the floor then pops up vertically upstairs and there is a toilet and sink that are connected on this same run that vents through the roof. Do I still need an AAR coming off the T or can I just skip the vent all together remove this trifurcated piece and just do a 90 bend to the horizontal section?

When I ran a few loads of laundry it seemed to be fine when I took the AAR off and capped it with a clean out. But I really am not sure how this all works so let me know what you think.

Attachments

• IMG_2617.jpeg
    IMG_2617.jpeg
    2.3 MB · Views: 19
  • IMG_2624.jpeg
    IMG_2624.jpeg
    2.4 MB · Views: 18
  • IMG_2623.jpeg
    IMG_2623.jpeg
    2.4 MB · Views: 16
  • IMG_2622.jpeg
    IMG_2622.jpeg
    1.7 MB · Views: 17
  • IMG_2621.jpeg
    IMG_2621.jpeg
    1.8 MB · Views: 17
  • IMG_2619.jpeg
    IMG_2619.jpeg
    2.6 MB · Views: 17
  • IMG_2618.jpeg
    IMG_2618.jpeg
    1.7 MB · Views: 17
1. The 3 x 2 on it's back is supposed to be a combo. the reason is to enable solids to sweep in the direction of flow and not crash-land and accumulate. (we could argue that not a lot of solids in your application, so who cares). But it is not to code.