Jetting question(s)

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

davethelibrarian

Reaction score
Hiya! I'm new to the forum and have a jetting question. We (my family) have a persistent grease clog somewhere between our kitchen sink (main floor) and the floor drain in our basement. When it gets blocked (usually in the colder weather), the nasty water backs up into a sink in the basement that runs into the same line. We need some advice with troubleshooting hydro-jetting through either the floor drain or the basement sink. Note that I'm an amateur -- a homeowner just trying to DIY -- so I may not get all the terminology right -- sorry if this is confusing as a result!

More detail:
The line would get clogged up pretty regularly (1-3x in the fall and winter) in spite of the fact that we dump all our dishwater outside all year around. We used to use other messy, labour-intensive methods to get it cleared, which worked fine before we became parents (recently). But these are no longer viable, and now that we're parents, we're finding it's getting clogged more frequently. We had it snaked professionally a few times, and jetted professionally once, and this always worked (especially the jetting), but we can't afford to have this done at the frequency needed, so we bought a hydro jetting (a 25' cloghog) hose attachment for our pressure washer.