I can't get the flapper off!

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bluebutterfly

Reaction score
Hello all!
Well, I'm a bit of a newbie DIY in plumbing, and think I've correctly identified the flapper as being the source of my problems with water leaking out of the tank, etc. etc. This is a low flow toilet, American Standard, currently has a blue flapper with a float. Anyway, I watched a few youtube vids on how to remove a flapper from the "ears" it's attached to. Looked simple enough. But when I went to take my flapper off, I cannot see a way to get the darn thing off those ears. For one thing, this low flow toilet has like an interior casing, I guess to provide better water usage. It somewhat limits my ability to even get my hands in there to work. But even so, I can't see how I can get the flapper off the ears without snipping it off. It sure as heck isn't slipping off those two ears as nice an easy as all the youtube vids I've watched. I was so happy that this looked like an easy job but noooooooooooo. Anybody have a suggestion? or has anyone encountered this problem on their own flapper job? thanks! I'd hate to pay a plumber $$ just to put in a $5 part.....

If you can , carefully cut the flapper off the flush valve ears. The new flapper should be easier to install. Be really careful not to break the ears or the flush valve tower cutting the flapper off .

If you can , carefully cut the flapper off the flush valve ears. The new flapper should be easier to install. Be really careful not to break the ears or the flush valve tower cutting the flapper off .