How to remove Pegasus shower handle

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wayne S

Reaction score
Hi all. I'm a newbie. :) I have a Pegasus shower fixture which works just fine, but has become corroded. I want to remove it to clean it all up, then put it back. I can't.
First thing I did was remove the two bolts holding the face plate on. That was easy enough and it hangs loose when I do that. Then I struggled to figure out how to get the handle off. I found the set screw on the underside and removed it. Did no good. When I turn the water on, the handle of course moves, but so does the bigger part to its right, which may or may not be okay, but it moves. I can't remove the handle and I can't remove the bigger part, even with the set screw removed. I've tried unscrewing it, which didn't work. The sink basin has the same brand and that removed by unscrewing the corresponding part, but there is no set screw there. I tried pulling it off. I tried prying it off with a piece of wood. I've sprayed it multiple times with a penetrating oil. It just won't budge. The handle itself has become quite loose. It looks there is a square part going from the bigger part into the handle and that the handle should screw into the bigger part, but I can't figure it out. I thought the handle itself could be unscrewed, but I can't do that either. Help! In the third of the attached pictures you can obviously see a lot of corrosion underneath, but I'm not sure how that figures into the equation because the bigger part does turn when I turn the water on. Sorry to be so wordy. I've always been like that.

Attachments

• Handle and faucet.jpg
    Handle and faucet.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 10
  • Handle.jpg
    Handle.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 8
  • Under handle structure.jpg
    Under handle structure.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 8