How to protect buried black steel pipe

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

whoru9999

Reaction score
I have very little experience with gas line piping. I just had a Yellow PE gas line ran to my pool heater by a pool contractor. It terminates near the pool heater with what appears to be a compression fitting that is connected in turn a black steel elbow and a short run of black steel pipe. The compression fitting and elbow are buried undergroung (wrapped in protective tape) and the pipe comes up out of the ground to my heater through a valve.

I would like to extend the run by about 48 inches because I have to move my heater. I would like to remove the elbow, and use a black steel pipe length. I have the protective tape (American Presto Pipe Wrap Tape), and plan on wrapping the pipe and fittings, then coating the whole thing with roofing tar. Should this provide enough protection to last for quite a while?

Personally I would use copper or CSST (Corrugated Stainless Steel Tubing). Both are approved for underground use and will last a very long time.

So...still looking for an answer about the black pipe...Is there a better way to protect it than what I planned on trying?

Some municipalities strictly forbid any metal gas pipes to be buried underground. Also, most municipalities demand that any and all gas pipe be buried between 12" and 24" below grade. Sure, it's your backyard and could do anything you want, until something bad happens. The problem is that if something bad was to happen, you might find out an insurance company will deny any and all claims against incorrect workmanship. Added to this is the fact that if and when you sell your home, and inspector will order this pipe to be corrected before you could sell it.