Hot Water Issue

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Peter_SA

Reaction score
So I have an issue with the Master bathroom and maintaining hot water in my shower. The bath tub us seperate and outputs hot water at a steady flow. The shower is a different story and will only put out decent hot water when the handle is all the way to the max hot for a short period. I've replaced the valve in the shower that regulates the temp, have a recently new water heater in, and cannot figure out why my shower is doing this. Can some one please potentially point me in the right direction?

Which valve have you replaced? What is the brand of that valve?

Moen rough in valves have integral stops on both the hot and cold that you can get to by removing the 6 inch round trim piece behind the handle. Possibly your hot is not fully open. Also, with a Moen valve. There is a temperature limiter below the handle, consisting of two plastic rings with gear like teeth that are easily adjusted. I am not sure if either is your problem, but I thought I would suggest a couple of things to try.

Which valve have you replaced? What is the brand of that valve?

Moen rough in valves have integral stops on both the hot and cold that you can get to by removing the 6 inch round trim piece behind the handle. Possibly your hot is not fully open. Also, with a Moen valve. There is a temperature limiter below the handle, consisting of two plastic rings with gear like teeth that are easily adjusted. I am not sure if either is your problem, but I thought I would suggest a couple of things to try.

I believe it was a Moen. I got it from Lowes a couple months ago. I made sure that the hot was fully open but not aware of the two plastic rings.