Hot Water Heater leaking secondary? pressure valve

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cucamonga

Reaction score
I have a hot water heater at a rental house that has some sort of secondary pressure valve coming off the supply line from the house and the top of the hot water heater. Is anybody familiar with this set up? It is leaking at a steady pace at the side of the house, I’ve tested the house pressure and it is within specs. I am a rookie DIY’r so not technically familiar with how this interacts with the
Hot water heater or the traditional pressure relief valve (which is not leaking). I will post a few pictures I had taken when I did a previous repair, to show the part I am taking about. It has a small coper pipe coming off of it, not sure the exact size approximately 1/4”.

If anybody can help me identify this part and if what would cause it to be leaking? Ideas on how to fix it?
IMG_7220.JPG

IMG_7222.JPG

IMG_7217.JPG

Attachments

• IMG_7221.JPG
    IMG_7221.JPG
    53.9 KB · Views: 29
  • IMG_7223.JPG
    IMG_7223.JPG
    83.6 KB · Views: 29
Last edited:
Not really sure WHY it's there, but it looks like and adjustable pressure relief valve. I have seen similar relief valves, but are usually 1/2" .

can you read the tag hanging on the threaded connection into the ball valve?
any numbers or names on the valve.
maybe it was a lower pressure relief used instead of an expansion tank to deal with thermal expansion. you have a safety valve on the heater so I would just remove it and plug it.

in Massachusetts you are require to install a temp/pressure relief valve
and a vaccum relief valve on the cold inlet never seen that setup before

i just looked at the pic again maybe its a bleeder so when you shut down a particular area you can remove the water ......is there a slotted screw driver head you can shut off