Hot Water Heater leaking secondary? pressure valve

Discussion in 'Water Heaters and Softeners' started by Cucamonga, Mar 17, 2018.

Help Support Plumbing Forums by donating using the link above.
  1. Mar 17, 2018 #1

Cucamonga

Cucamonga

Cucamonga

I have a hot water heater at a rental house that has some sort of secondary pressure valve coming off the supply line from the house and the top of the hot water heater. Is anybody familiar with this set up? It is leaking at a steady pace at the side of the house, I’ve tested the house pressure and it is within specs. I am a rookie DIY’r so not technically familiar with how this interacts with the
    Hot water heater or the traditional pressure relief valve (which is not leaking). I will post a few pictures I had taken when I did a previous repair, to show the part I am taking about. It has a small coper pipe coming off of it, not sure the exact size approximately 1/4”.

If anybody can help me identify this part and if what would cause it to be leaking? Ideas on how to fix it?
    IMG_7220.JPG

IMG_7222.JPG

IMG_7217.JPG

Attached Files:

Last edited: Mar 17, 2018
  2. Mar 17, 2018 #2

Mr_David

Mr_David

Mr_David

Easily Amused Professional

Not really sure WHY it's there, but it looks like and adjustable pressure relief valve. I have seen similar relief valves, but are usually 1/2" .

can you read the tag hanging on the threaded connection into the ball valve?
    any numbers or names on the valve.
    maybe it was a lower pressure relief used instead of an expansion tank to deal with thermal expansion. you have a safety valve on the heater so I would just remove it and plug it.

3. Mar 17, 2018 #3

Geofd

Geofd

Geofd

Professional Professional

in Massachusetts you are require to install a temp/pressure relief valve
    and a vaccum relief valve on the cold inlet never seen that setup before