Grease in sewer sump – Identification?

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

beer_me_please

Reaction score
Hi folks,

I have a question for any knowledgable professionals regarding grease accumulation in a sump for a mixed-use building. There are 90 units in total – 70 residential and 20 commercial. Three of the commercial units are small class 1 restaurants.

Here's the question: Is there any way a technician could confidently determine that the majority of the grease removed from the sump is either household grease or restaurant grease? From your experience, is there a clear distinction that can be made from the visual appearance or consistency of the grease?

Any insight would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Anything coming from the restaurant kitchen should be going through a grease trap before it reaches the pumping station.

I’m no expert on grease but that’s code where I come from

Anything coming from the restaurant kitchen should be going through a grease trap before it reaches the pumping station.

I’m no expert on grease but that’s code where I come from

Thanks for the reply, Matt. Yes, that should be the case, but in this situation I'm unsure if all three restaurants have local grease traps.

I had already discovered that despite all of them being class 1 restaurants, none of them actually has a permit to run a class 1 cooking operation (only class 2), so there's a good chance that code is not being properly followed regarding grease management. I've opened case files with the city's property use department, but it often takes a while for them to investigate and even longer to take action.

For the time being, I'm building a case internally that will be presented to the rest of council. It's a bit complicated... o_O