Drain Auger good or junk?

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TxGladiators

Reaction score
So, I am looking to purchase a used drain auger. The larger “professional” ones since my handheld dewalt drill augers are too small for the job in our home.

Spotted this bad boy for $125. But makes me nervous that the working end is not fed inthe drum. Is it fairly easy to coil it in the drum or am I wasting ny money on a defective used product?
I asked the owners to coil in the drum. This was his response,”
Sorry I have no experience with a drain cleaning machine and don't know how to do it. Motor runs, drum turns, forward and reverse works, the foot switch works, ground fault interrupter works. Snakes are rolled up as you saw in the pics

Attachments

• 25C55CEE-CC84-4AF5-89A3-2E5E762D501C.jpeg
    25C55CEE-CC84-4AF5-89A3-2E5E762D501C.jpeg
    346.5 KB · Views: 20
  • 6A3386FF-065B-463D-9DBA-4A711DDB2095.jpeg
    6A3386FF-065B-463D-9DBA-4A711DDB2095.jpeg
    759.8 KB · Views: 20
  • 3BD9BDDA-864F-4551-AD50-266023137305.jpeg
    3BD9BDDA-864F-4551-AD50-266023137305.jpeg
    98.4 KB · Views: 19
We don't use that one, but all our augers, the cable just sits loose, coiled up in the drum. Sometimes, we take em out completely to clean them, which is maybe why that's out. They're easy to stuff back in so long as they're not kinked.

Research the model, if you want, but I'd guess it's fine (and a hell of a deal) as is.

Inspect the cable for kinks or heavy rust.

If it looks ok, just keep it oiled up from now on.

If it gets rusty and snaps inside a drain, you will have a bad day.

You can always buy new cables if you are worried.