Correct way to replace sink drain pipe?

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

its_a_me

Reaction score
The 4” male-male pipe leading from where my sink drain connects to the pipes inside of the wall is totally rusted in the bathroom side.

I poked a hole in the plaster and can see where it screws in to the T in the wall. I was planning on replacing it with a new galvanized steel pipe, then running PVC up to my new sink from the galvanized I’m going to install.

Is this the best practice, or can I skip steel and go with PVC fRom The wall?

I’m brand new to plumbing so any help is appreciated!

Man, that is going to be a delicate job. Twist off a bit too hard, and it may break off in the wall, but that is your best option. Maybe some of the experts may have a better idea?

Pros on here can hopefully contribute their advice.

Meanwhile, yes it would be ideal to just unscrew the rusty galvanized nipple that is attached to the tee behind the wall.

You can trim out more of the plaster all around it, so you can reach the tee fitting to squirt penetrating oil all around the edge.
Apply it several times, over a few days, and tap lightly all around the edge with a metal tool, the vibrations help the oil get absorbed.

Then hopefully the nipple will unscrew without massive force.

Too much force can twist the tee and wreck the pipes leading from it, up to the vent and down to the drain line.

And leaks or breaks can occur far from the tee.

I think I would be conservative, and if it does not unscrew pretty easily, I would consider cutting out the tee and attaching a new pvc tee with no-hub couplings.

A set of no-hub couplings can join the old galvanized piping to new pvc pipe stubs, that are glued into a new pvc tee.

You will have to enlarge the hole in the wall to about a foot tall vertically.

You can cover the scar with a thin piece of decorative wood trim.