Amateur plumber - coupling at angle

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

88guy

Reaction score
I'm a self-taught "non-plumber" but I'm, generally, pretty good around the house - and our house is so screwed up that anything I do makes it better than it was... Tonight, running out of pipe, I didn't push some 1/2 inch copper all the way into a ball valve and I think that it caused the pipe and a coupling to be at a slight angle. It's my ugliest plumbing job, to date - I was replacing an ancient, corroded gate valve. But nothing leaks, and everything has lots of solder (too much). This is certainly a stupid question but I'm wondering if the slight angle, in the attached image, is any sort of issue. I've never sweat pipes, had no leaks, and ever had pipe come apart. But I'm a worrier. Would this cause any problems.
copper.png

If it was me I would fix it and try not to burn that elbow anymore. But it could last forever or not I have seen both outcomes.

EWWWWWWW!!!!!!! :eek: Dingleberry's!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Let me ask you a personal intimate question.

Do you wipe your rear end when you take a dump?

Of course you do!!!!! cause you aint finished till its wiped!!!!!

solidering copper is the same way, you aint finished till that joint is wiped!!!!!

those are called dingleberries hanging off that pipe..

your joint is in a bind, that aint good,

in the future, when you cut a pipe with cutters, if you cut to fast,to deep to soon..you get a ridge on your copper pipe.
this ridge, keeps you from pushing the pipe all the way into the fitting, slow down on your cuts.
also. when you fab up your work, if its sagging, put a 2x4 of a trash can lid,,,or a brick
what ever is handy under the pipe to support it.so it dont sag.

get them damn dingleberries off that pipe,:rolleyes: looks like socks on a rooster images (10).jpg

try not to burn that elbow anymore