air is only additive needed for septic success

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kouvakis

Reaction score
i live in texas where we have 18 inches of sand over clay. my double tank old style dribble thru anaerobic septic system was putting out some pretty nasty stuff into and old shallow well about 700 feet downhill from my leach lines. it looked like bordens chocalotte mik with froth on top and stunk reeeeeeeeeaal bad. I got 2 devilbiss nebulizers machine (air pumps) that our govt sponsored wlefare system gives to every poor child with a snotty nose. found one at a steel salvage yard paid 10 cents a pound and got the other off of the interenet used. hooked nylon tubing up to them and made a tube to go down in my septic tanks with some pvc pipe. i have been running them for several months and the water in that old well is clear and doesnt smell and there are frogs living in there as well. you can turn your septic tank into an aerrobic system the same way. i will probably put a time on them and run them only 12 hours a day after a while. bh

putting out some pretty nasty stuff into and old shallow well about 700 feet downhill from my leach lines

You are breaking some very serious laws in the state of Texas. Not just some hefty fines, but jail time is not unheard of.
Any part of septic water that goes into ANY WELL in Texas is a contamination of Texas ground water, and is against the law.

When you turn the air off, the process stops working. Leave the air going, it work much better that way.

Last edited:
Seven hundred feet is a long distance for effluent water to run. Sounds like your well is a dug well. Why not fill it in with dirt. That should make it a bit safer.

I guess what your saying is that the water is running downhill under the sand but on top of the clay and running straight into this dug well.