60+ year old septic system

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dan G

Reaction score
I have no experience with septic systems or plumbing in general and I was hoping to get some input on a property I am looking to purchase. The property is in Massachusetts and, consequently, required to pass a Title V inspection. I negotiated into the purchase contract that the seller pay for the Title V (it is an estate sale and the seller didn't want to pay any money out of pocket, originally). The sale is contingent upon the septic system passing Title V. Here is where it gets tricky.

I am actually hoping that the property fails the title V and we can renegotiate the purchase price or I can walk away without losing my deposit. The reason passing Title V concerns me is because the property still has the original septic system back from when the home was built in 1957. I am worried it might pass by the skin of its teeth and then fail soon after I buy the house and begin using the system (hasn't been used since the owner passed back in May of 2018). The house is also built on ledge, which I'm afraid will greatly increase the price of a new septic system.

How realistic is it that a 62 year old system will pass a Title V and how much longer can it realistically last? There's no record of service or pumping, so I can only assume that the system was not well maintained. I understand that it is nearly impossible to speculate but, to me, 62 years seems like an pretty big outlier.

Thanks for your help!

I would speculate that if inspected and reported properly, it shouldn't pass.
There is a lot more to the passing than just showing that it's operating with no problems. For example, age and material of tank, relationship of ground water to the system, etc., etc.