1 1/2" tub to 2" shower?

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mikey

Reaction score
I'm replacing an old tub with a barrier-free ADA shower. The current drain is 1/1/2", and code requires a 2" in the shower. What's the likelihood my local inspector will allow me to retain the 1 1/2" drain for the shower? Aside from being a very difficult conversion, it makes no sense to me (not that that matters). The flow rate when you empty a filled tub is dramatically higher than the 2.5 GPM maximum in my shower, so why the need for a larger drain? (You may have guessed I'm not a plumber. I'm an electrical engineer, and this rule is (to me) the equivalent of requiring a 15A circuit breaker for an old CRT TV, and a 20A breaker for a new LCD.)

Probably would better to call your local inspector and ask him. Why run the drain wrong and then have to tear it
out.

In usage, drains tend accumulate build up over time. Any dead plumber knows this.
A 2" drain alleviates having to constantly be snaking hair and other build up.
Even then, I have had many customers who need showers cleaned out due to hair build up from long haired occupant use.
So, the rule is designed to minimize headaches. Just ask any dead plumber about his experience.
In practice, copper drains tend to be fairly bacteriostatic and sluff-off build-up (except for hair). I have cut out many 1-1/2" kitchen drain lines from the 50s and they are clean as the day they were installed- no kidding.

I have a 50s bathroom in my home and it is 1-1/2" copper, brass p-trap, copper pipes. I have used it daily for 22 years w/o a clog. The ss top/strainer is just a basic and it does catch a lot of hair. Rarely do long haired people use it.

A 2" drain alleviates having to constantly be snaking hair and other build up.