Dear fellow plumbing professionals - share your nightmares

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PP1

Reaction score
Hello all,ive been doing this as a professional for 23 years,,,, just wondering,do you worry about your jobs after you leave? Lets take something like a basic compression angle stop,how many of you worry about leaks and or floods after youve checked it several times and left the job? Ive been struggling with this lately,the "what ifs". Its driving me mad!Has anything ever went seriously wrong? Share your nightmare!

3 story dorm. job is complete, final walk thru

2nd floor, i see a drp under a sink, i reach in to tighten the nut on aa angle stop, it blows off in my hand.

i drop to the floor, put my palm over the pipe and hold back water.

i am screaming, turn off the water, BUT, building is finished i am in a bathroom on the 2nd floor, ac is running and door is closed

no one can hear me..about 45 minutes later, they are wondering where the hell i am.

they turned off the water, after i was found, i had let out about a gallon of water,

i had a hole in my hand for 2 mths.

or.

you know how the water to the meters is always soft copper ?
the meter was looking down, needed to be leveled to hook up
i reached in the hole, grabed the meter and pulled it up
SNAP pvc not copper

I am instantly in a mud hole. ONLY way to turn this MF off is with a dressor clamp and a valve
easier said than done. 30 minutes later, water off, and i am going home...i dont give a damn good by

A lot of things occurred when making repairs that you have to keep track of.
Like faucets opened to drain a system.

You turn the water back on and forgot to close that one faucet that had a slow sink drain. As you walk back into the unit the water is overflowing onto the floor. :eek: