Replacing old sink faucet and pipes need advice/help

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ATypicalSeven

Reaction score
I was thinking of replacing my sink faucet and pipes but I would love some help and advice before doing this ( To note I'm a beginner at doing stuff like this). My sink has 3 holes and I wanted to replace the faucet with this one http://www.homedepot.com/p/Delta-Fo...n-Chrome-21988LF/203426230?N=5yc1vZarg1Zbwo5o

the only problem is that I wanted to change the pipes within it as well as it's getting really old and corroding ( didn't change it since the house was brought about 12 years ago). Below I attached a picture of the pipes I wanted to change. Can someone help me determine what pipes I would need to buy and if possible what size? I really don't want to drive down to home depot 5 times in a day like I did last time when I was replacing my bathroom faucet and the help at home depot gave me the wrong connectors I needed.

Thank you in advance! If any more info is needed or a better picture please tell me and I'll get it up asap

20141120_113530.jpg

In my opinion, there are too many issues for a novice to handle. You should hire a licensed plumber. I would probably change out the disposal while redoing things. Yours looks pretty rough and they aren't that expensive. Often times the basket strainer will leak once you start messing with things due to the old putty being hard and it cracks when you accidentally twist it trying to remove corroded stuff. Plan on replacing that too. Whatever you do, don't use one of those accordion pipes. Your dishwasher drain line needs to be run in a high loop, not flopping about.