Indirect hot water heater.

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

spete112

Reaction score
Does anyone have any experience and or preference with Indirect hot water heaters. I defiantly want to go with stainless steel and I would like to go with 80 gallon size. When I worked as a plumber we never had a call to install one. I have tried to ask a few local dealers and the first question that they ask me back is do you mean instant hot water heaters. LOL that was pretty much the end of my question there. I am all set up from my boiler to install one. I can't wait to stop using electricity for hot water.

I may have replaced a couple years ago that were used in a solar system.
But to install one to work with your Hydronic space heater I have not. Not to may of those systems here in Sunny Southern Calif.

Do you use you Hydronic heater all year round or will you have an alternative heat source in the warmer times of the year.
If your heater fails you also loose your hot water.

Thanks for your answer. We just bought our house a couple of years ago that had forced air heat. My Dad help me install hot water in floor heat with several zones on the boiler. We installed a couple of tees and valves so the plumbing part to tape into the boiler will be a synch. My boiler has a priority zone for a water heater that will shut off all the heat zones and will increase the out put to the max for a quick recovery of the wh. To answer your other question as of right now the boiler does not run in the summer. I live in northern Minnesota so we go from heat to AC very quickly. This state will not allow power company to buy power that is not green (ie coal). So electricity is expensive and will only get worse. The hardest part is throwing out a working 80 gallon heater